Alrighty then - new thread - what predatory fish do you keep?

LydiaGreen

Medium Fish
Sep 16, 2004
Ontario, Canada
Visit site
I am having a 375 custom built for my soon-to-be basement "fish room". I have gone absolutely gaga over bichirs. I had planned on stocking this tank with senegals, albino senegals, retropinnis, delhezi, and palmas polli. My son is looking forward to "feeding time" once this tank is established and stocked (about a year away).

So, in an effort to help revive the predatory fish forum, what predatory fish do you keep and tell us a little bit about them.

scubadude

Large Fish
Aug 20, 2005
carthage,MO.
Hello Lydia! I'm new to MFT. I discovered it by chance while desparetly searching for info on RBP's. As you probably know they spawned and i pretty much flipped out because i never thought they would. Their names are Carnage and Topknot. Carnage is the largest and most aggressive when feeding, while Topknot is a couple of inches shorter and has to work quite a bit harder to get a good meal shareing with Carnage (she's a pig!). I had no idea what their sex was untill i saw the spawning behavior. During this time it seems that topknot rules the tank. He is VERY aggressive during this time and mild damage can be seen on Carnage due to his instinctive abuse. I named Carnage for obvious reasons, while Topknot got his name from the notch taken out of his head by one of his tankmates at the pet shop. I started out with 3 but lost 1 due to internal parasites or something of the like. It's name was Oddball (missing 2 fins), and i never found out the sex. The 2 i have left are identical except for size. But... the 2 that are left seem more comfortable with the extra space and I'm happy for them.

LydiaGreen

Medium Fish
Sep 16, 2004
Ontario, Canada
Visit site