A few questions about Guppies..

Apr 15, 2012
Hello, I'm going to just go right out and say I have no fish experience at all!

I bought two Guppies the other day, a male and female.
Right now they're in a very small starter tank while I'm setting up their 15 Gallon tank.
The starter tank was originally meant for Bettas, and contained a Betta water purifyer and Betta colour enhancing food. Are these safe to use with Guppies?

Once the 15 gallon is set up, I'm planning on adding some more fish, but I'm on a fairly small budget.
What are some inexpensive fish that get along with Guppies?
I'm considering Platy's at the moment.

Also any fish-keeping tips will be appreciated!

Thyra

Superstar Fish
Jun 2, 2010
Yelm, WA
Welcome to the forum! First of all, start reading some of the "Stickies" at the beginning of the different forums on this site. The most important purchase will be a liquid test kit and what you will be concerned with is Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate. It is called "cycling your tank" to get beneficial bacteria. The API liquid test kit (fresh water) is the one most of us use. It costs between $20 and $35. Shop around on the internet to find the best deal and take into consideration the shipping costs. I have never raised Guppies, but I see no reason why they won't get along with platies, you will just need a lot of hiding places so that some of the fry survive because most fish - even the parents will eat fry. Also, I want to add, platies come in a lot of different variations and colors. I have some blue/gray ones with dark red tails and fins.

Apr 15, 2012
Thank you for the information! I've heard of cycling a fish-tank, but I never knew how it was done, I'll pick up the test kit tomorrow.
Also, I'm planning on letting the mother give birth in the starter tank before moving them into the bigger one so that more survive.

Apr 15, 2012