5 gallon nano -- some advice please?

Nov 15, 2004
St. Catharines, Ont.
Visit site
Hey.. I'm new to saltwater tanks, as I've never had one before, but in the near future I may be getting a fairly cheap 15gallon freshwater tank to replace my 5 gallon. [I know many of you will recommend making the 15g into the saltwater, but I don't have enough money for the LR and sand.. it's $9/lb here] One of my friends at the LFS suggested setting up my 5 gallon as a nano-saltwater tank, and offered to help me. I know nanos aren't recommended for beginners, but as he's volunteered to help me set it up and guide me through the entire process [and the store is a 25 minute busride so help is not that far away], I thought it might not be so bad. :)
Currently I have my 5g tank that I'm looking to empty. I know that the filter in it is not suitable for saltwater [it's an Elite Stingray 5], so Eric [LFS guy] is giving me an old Aquaclear Mini of his. He's also given me a 50 watt Tronic heater. I planned to get some bagged sand and add a cup of the sand from one of the store tanks to it, to make it live. Then I was going to get 5 pounds of live rock as well, and probably some small corals. Which, knowing Eric, will be put in the bag with the rock and not written on the bag. :D I am not positive on what fish I want to add to this yet, but I know I'm probably limited to one.. I was thinking maybe just a clownfish?
So basically, here's what I'm planning. If there's anything wrong with this setup, PLEASE tell me!

5 gallon tank
5 lbs live rock with some coral
5 lbs sand [plus 1 cup live sand from store to save some money]
Aquaclear mini filter
50 watt Tronic heater
[Possibly] 1 clownfish.

If the clownfish isn't feasible, are there any other options with a tank this small? I'll get something else, it's just that they have baby percula clownfish at the store, and they're so cute.. *thumbsup2

Thanks!

something

Large Fish
Nov 8, 2004
southern CA