Irridescent shark, NOT for the home aquarium either....

ashleigh

Superstar Fish
Jan 8, 2004
Missouri
Visit site
not to start off on one of my irate wal mart tangents- but I totally agree- I don't even understand why they would want to sell fish. It can't make up that much of their business and it's not like they are doing it well.

Apr 18, 2004
Visit site
i have been fishing catfish since i was a young kid .im not saying im an expert but the pick is not a channel cat catfish but is a real close look-a-like for the blue cats we catch around here . id say by the pic the fish he is holding is every bit of 10 to 12 fish and channels , blues and the almighty flat head reach that size quite quick. but id say it is an ID shark i had a few 3 years a go and they got to 5" and that was too large for a 30 gallon so i gave them to my cousin for his 125 gal and they are filling it out slowly. Just My Oppinion.

May 13, 2004
Visit site
ohh ****, my sister and i just recently (about a month ago) added an ID shark to our 20 gallon tank. At the moment it's only about 3-4 inches but will it really grow to be like 3 feet?? the guy at the pet store told us it would be fine in a 20 g tank??

Mar 17, 2004
Visit site
Welcome to the tank jcsock13;)

ya, we get that alot here on this board saying "the guy at the pet store said they should be fine" But taking their advice often results in death to the fish!. ID Sharks do get extremley huge!, and a 20 gallon tank would certainly not suffice at all when it's full grown!!!!!

Apr 18, 2004
Visit site
in reply to Jaws 101 i dont have a digi cam but i can garrentee they are evry bit of 9 inches now and they are all about the same size. they are at least 1 1/2 to 2 inches thick. they eat like horses but they have slowed down a lot. instead of swimming all over the tank they seem to stay in thier own little area untill feeding time. they dont seem to swim together like they used to do. sorry i dont have a pic of them.

catfishmike

Superstar Fish