Pregnant Mickey Mouse Platy

Apr 30, 2010
I have a pregnant Mickey Mouse Platy. I'm getting a 2nd aquarium so I can keep the babies separate in hopes that the other fish won't eat them. I've been told by one website to not use a filter in the "babies" aquarium. Then another told me I needed to. One said to get a fish net to separate them, another said it would stress the mom out. One said to keep the water at 65-72 degrees, one said at 80. The only heaters I can buy around here cannot be changed, they are automatically set for approx 70.

I'm very new to the whole fish-business, only had an aquarium about 2/3 months, and the pregnancy was a bit of a shock, both happy and "ACK!!!", but I'd like to make this fun for my kids so am trying my best to do things right.

Can I get some info from some of you that are more experienced? Thanks.

lauraf

Superstar Fish
Jan 1, 2010
Vancouver, British Columbia
Hi Mary:
I'm not an expert with raising livebearer fry, but here are two options if you want your kids to watch the fry survive and grow. If you leave her to give birth in your community tank, all the other fish will try to eat the fry once mum has given birth, and it will be hard to scoop them out and into the fry tank without damaging them.
1. Some people buy a breeder box to float in the existing tank, putting mum in there. The idea is when she drops her fry, they go through a small opening and stay protected in the bottom section. You can eventually move the fry from that container into the fry tank, and mum back into the community tank.
Now here's another idea - please let other, more experienced people here chime in to correct me if this is not a good option. It's just that years ago I found the small breeder
box actually stressed mum out so much that she would die or birth stillborns.