New Snails Introduced - not doing well...

mlolm

Small Fish
Jul 25, 2016
Hi Everyone,

Beginner here, this is my first planted tank. It is a bit small. I bought a new tank, a much bigger one that I will setup in the next few weeks. But in the meantime I wanted to get some cool snails since algae in my small tank is still an issue. I bought two small snails. I dont know what kind of snails they are, i could go back to the petshop to get the exact name if that helps us.

I did the normal water adjustment and added them about two weeks ago. At first one was fairly active, the other was a bit more shy. After a day they both were moving about feeding on the algae in my tank. By the third day I noticed they would fall over on their backs alot. Then i'd wait to see if they could right themselves on their own. They did, at one point one of them was almost completely out of his shell to right himself. I was worried maybe they would get stuck on their backs, one stopped moving completely and you could see he was slightly out of his shell by a milimeter. I righted him because he didnt move for a whole 24 hours. Now both have been sitting in the same positoin, without moving at all for about 3 days. They are not feeding, or moving, at all, day or night. I'm not sure if they are even alive at this point.

It seems they may not like my water, or temparature. I have attached my water readings with the most recent one from last weekend. Water temp is: 25 Celcius.

Any ideas? I will also try to check with the petshop today if they are still open.

Attachments

FreshyFresh

Superstar Fish
Jan 11, 2013
East Aurora, NY
Welcome! Very cool looking little tank! Love bettas. The problem with bettas is.. atleast with the ones I've kept is, they will pick at snails, especially the tentacles of larger snails. Do your snails have trap-doors on them? They look like mystery snails to me.

mlolm

Small Fish
Jul 25, 2016
Hi,