muriatic acid

jts112278

Medium Fish
Oct 22, 2002
I am a newbie to discus and I have been doing quite a bit of research both on the internet and in my lfs about Discus. I hope to set up the tank in July and would like to know if anyone has any opinions on Muruatic Acid. Supposedly this will bring your ph down to the necessary level. Any advice/experince you might have would be greatly appreciated.

R

ronrca

I use Discus buffer and Neutral regulator by Seachem when using R/O water. Works great. I would recommend that if you do use muriatic acid, that you first test it without using fish, maybe in a 5G pail or something. Then you can figure out what ratio is needed for your tank and slowly can start changing the pH.

jts112278

Medium Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Excellent suggestion ronrca! That is exactly what I did on my lunch break today. Picked some up at a lps (local paint store) and treated 5 gal. in a bucket. After five minutes, using one capful, the water went from a 8.8 to 5.5!!!! Wow is all i have to say. This is preliminary info but i am pretty excited to do somemore tests this evening! i'll keep the updates coming!

R

ronrca

Just to make sure. Im not sure if you know this or not so I will mention it anyways.

Please do not change the pH that your fish are in too quickly. It will stress you fish out and can lead to disease, then death. I have had it happen to me already. Do it slowly over a number of weeks. I would recommend changing the ph by only 0.2 every couple of days. The method I use is a drip method. I place a 5G pail of water higher than my tank and, using a air hose tube, slowly siphon the water from the pail into the tank. Depending on the rate of flow, the pail will take 3-4 hours to empty. This works great for changing water chemistry and for acclimating new fish especially discus.