how many tetra in 2.5 gallon tank?

CAPSLOCK

Elite Fish
Jul 19, 2004
Cape Cod
I'd say 3-4 tetras also. Make sure to get little tetras-neons, black neons, cardinals, lemons, or embers (hard to find). Rasboras would work too, I've heard they're a bit more exciting than tetras.

Other possible choices: guppies, a dwarf gourami and a pair of african dwarf frogs, or white cloud mountain minnows.

Edit: Wow, what happened to the order of replies on this thread?

Last edited:

boblee

Small Fish
Nov 27, 2005
Hi, I'm new with this hobby and I'm planning to get a starter kit that's 2.5 gallon and planning to start with tetra fish...just wondering how many tetras I can put in the tank. Thanks.

Pure

Elite Fish
Nov 1, 2005
Jacksonville, FL
3-4 max, any more than that and you would be over stocked, and also risk nipped fins. Tetras when confined and not kept in proper schools (at least 6) often resort to violence. In fact some species of tetras are down right nasty to any other smaller or slower fish no matter how many you have.

A sugestion... If you are going to take the plunge. Invest in at least a 29 gal to start.. You have way more choices of fish you can keep and thus are less likely to get bored with the hobby. Not to mention smaller tanks actually require more work and are more touch about changes in their water parameters. These changes happen every time you do a water change. Also the common neon tetra isn't the best beginner fish. They tend to be quite touchy about their water parameters and often are lost to beginner mistakes.

Sep 11, 2005
Philadelphia
www.myspace.com