fish for a 2 gallon tank

jfish

Small Fish
Oct 22, 2002
How many fish could I put in a 2 gallon tank, and what kind would do well? The reason I ask is because I am a student and don't have much space in my dorm room,but I want to experience the joy of fish. Thanks for any help.

Jfish

wraxa

New Fish
Oct 22, 2002
Baisically you'll want something that stays relatively small, and is happy alone or in a small group. You'll also want something that can tolerate temperature changes throughout the day, since you are not advised to use a heater in a small tank.

I also have a two gallon tank. Right now I have three albino cory catfish. Other fish that would be ideal would be ONE Betta, or a small (5 at the VERY most) school of White Cloud Minnows. Both are noted to hardy, and good beginner fish.  :)

Remember to cycle before adding fish!

colesea

Superstar Fish
Oct 22, 2002
NY USA
I agree with the betta thing, I have had them live quite nicely in two gallon UGF tanks. In fact, I had a male steel blue Betta named Elwood that lived in my dorm with me all four years of school. I did a complete water change on him once a week. Feed him right, and he even had a little cory cat friend name Jake that he would get bluesy with now and again. We're talking very small cory cat here though. Every time I sat down at my desk to do homework or play on the computer, there would be Elwood doing his little betta dance. And sometimes I would do bio experiments on him, to see what colors pissed him off the most. But nothing pissed him off more than a mirror. The best way to get rid of obnoxious neighbors that don't know how to go home is to tell them your attack fish is gonna eat them up, then get him to flare for them like a real attack fish.