Best Gourami type for a community tank.

Iggy

Superstar Fish
Jun 25, 2003
Leduc, AB, Canada
Visit site
Hi all.

I am new to Gourami, I have 1 that was given to me (Earl the Cinamon Dwarf) and I really like him.

I have a big tank comming soon, and I will have my 38 gallon tank available. I want to have a small group of Gourami dwarfs of some kind along with some neon tetra's, otto's, cory cats and some guppies or other mid level fish.

I also like the idea of Angels, but I understand these are not friendly fish and will likely eat neons.

Regardless, what are the best gourami dwarfs for having 3-4 together with little or no fighting?

Oct 26, 2003
Toronto Canada
Visit site
You want to keep Dwarf Gouramis eh?

Well then we're talking about: Thick lips, Common Dwarfs, and Honeys.

Anything else is a cross breed. The cinnamon dwarf you have is one of 2 of such fish: if it is chubby with a blue dorsal fin, it is a common dwarf. If it is solid red with a clear white-ish tail, it is a hybrid of a thick lip and a honey gourami. (Or so the latest ramblings from my source are...)

If it is the latter, these fish are impossible to sex, although they are sexualy fertile- they can produce more spawn themselves without having to be hybridized.

A small group of these fish do well in a tank of reasonable size as I have seen this at my LFS with about 5 of these guys and some large tetras in a display tank.

If it is the Common dwarf you have, then you will want to get 4 females, which will maybe bother eachother, but not fight. More than one common dwarf male will fight- sometimes badly. Females of this species are brown or white.

Its usually not smart to mix different kinds of dwarves because they will fight.

You might want to consider pearl gouramis, which are beautiful, but slightly larger. THere will be no fighting and you could mix 2 pearls with your current fish and some females for him. It would look great.