Oscar or Jack Dempsey..

FreshyFresh

Superstar Fish
Jan 11, 2013
East Aurora, NY
I'm thinking about setting up another tank with a single, large fish with some personality. I'd prefer a tank no larger than a 55g, but might consider something like a used 75g if the deal was right. I'd like to stick with a 55g, given I don't use python type water changers due to being on an old septic system. It's 5gal pails tossed outdoors for me.

I've got some experience with oscars given a good buddy of mine kept them. They always cracked me up and acted as if they be perfectly happy to flop out of the tank and into your lap if they could. Problem is, I understand a 55 is the BARE minimum for a single oscar. I'm OK with that.. but just not sure it's best.

Another fish that comes to mind would be a jack dempsey. Another friend had one of those for years in a 20H (ugh..) I wouldn't do more than one and possibly another tank-mate if possible.

Any thoughts, experiences? I'm wide open here!

MdngtRain

Large Fish
Jan 9, 2011
New England
I like the dempseys, but I don't know much about them, just that I like their colors. Oscars are cool too, but I'm not a fan of "bare minimum" set-ups for anything. If you could handle a 75g and you prefer them, then Oscars are good too ;)

FreshyFresh

Superstar Fish
Jan 11, 2013
East Aurora, NY
Thanks CL. Good thought. I know you have to keep the decor to a minimum with them because they're clumsy and can be destructive. Of the recent research I've done, "oscar people" will say 75g, with 55 being the minimum for a single fish. I know decades ago, my room mate had 2 in a smaller tank IIRC.. Things were a little fuzzy back then.. *ehem*..

75's are hard to find on CL and they're so darn expensive, as are the stands compared to a 55g. I *think* Petsmart sells a 75g with a basic lighted hood for ~$250. That's too much for me given I need other hardware too.

Still researching other viable options for a big fun cichlid...

FishDad

Superstar Fish