Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie - goldfish popping bubbles.....???

This is a discussion on Newbie - goldfish popping bubbles.....??? within the Goldfish/Coldwater Discussion forums, part of the Freshwater Fish Breeds category;
Ok, I am new at keeping fish. I've done a lot of research, and then I got my first goldfish, ...

Teenie Weenie Fish

Question Newbie - goldfish blowing bubbles.....???

Ok, I am new at keeping fish. I've done a lot of research, and then I got my first goldfish, a fantail, about 2 weeks ago. She's been doing great, but now she's been doing something kind of odd. At night and in the morning, I'll wake up to hear little soft popping noises from her tank. She won't do it while i'm watching her, but I've been spying on her and she is going up to the top sides of the tank and maybe...blowing bubbles? popping bubbles? spitting out bubbles? I'm not exactly sure. There ARE a bunch of bubbles collecting around the top sides of the water....Is this normal, and does anyone know what she's doing or why? I just want to make sure she isn't sick or anything. THANKS!!!
    Last edited by Ellaeliz; 05-25-2005 at 08:57 AM.

Teenie Weenie Fish

Question Goldfish blowing bubbles...?

I'm new at this, just got my first goldfish about two weeks ago, and she's doing great, except now she's like, blowing bubbles at the top sides of the tank....i think. Is that what she's doing? And why? I just want to make sure its normal and she isn't sick or crazy. lol There are a whole bunch of bubbles collecting around the top sides....and am i going to piss her off when i do the water change in about a day and take away her bubbles??? HELP!

-New goldfish keeper

sounds like shes looking for air.. what do you have her in? a bowl? if so make sure it is large and buy an air pump, they are like $7.00 and then you just buy a tube that will run into the tank or bowl (.95 cents)

How big is this tank you're keeping it in?