Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

fish for a 2 gallon tank

This is a discussion on fish for a 2 gallon tank within the FreshWater Beginner Information/Questions forums, part of the FreshWater Topics category;
How many fish could I put in a 2 gallon tank, and what kind would do well? The reason I ...

Teenie Weenie Fish

Post fish for a 2 gallon tank

How many fish could I put in a 2 gallon tank, and what kind would do well? The reason I ask is because I am a student and don't have much space in my dorm room,but I want to experience the joy of fish. Thanks for any help.

Jfish

Teenie Weenie Fish

Post Re: fish for a 2 gallon tank

Baisically you'll want something that stays relatively small, and is happy alone or in a small group. You'll also want something that can tolerate temperature changes throughout the day, since you are not advised to use a heater in a small tank.

I also have a two gallon tank. Right now I have three albino cory catfish. Other fish that would be ideal would be ONE Betta, or a small (5 at the VERY most) school of White Cloud Minnows. Both are noted to hardy, and good beginner fish.  

Remember to cycle before adding fish!

Any schooling fish would be a bad idea, you need too many.

Your best bet would be the single male betta. Very pretty fish.

Be sure to keep up with your regular maintainence, and as wraxa mentioned, fishless cycle.

Josh